Home » jaipur stakes
Dan Fitch

Sprinting stars of the American turf often start their summer off in the Jaipur Stakes during the Belmont Stakes Racing Festival. On this page, we tell you everything you need to know about this famous horse racing event, which attracts some the fastest thoroughbreds to the East Coast.

What is the Jaipur Stakes?

The Jaipur is a Grade I thoroughbred race open to horses aged three-years-old and up. Run for much of its history over seven furlongs (1,400m), this event reverted to it original distance of six furlongs (1,200m) in 2006 and again in 2014.

Ordinarily run at Belmont Park as part of the Belmont Stakes Racing Festival, the 2024 and 2025 editions of this meet switch to Saratoga Race Course. This is because the home of the Jaipur is being redeveloped by the NYRA. All races from Belmont Stakes day move upstate to Saratoga as a result. The race distance is marginally shorter this year and again at an extended five furlongs (1,100m).

Jaipur Stakes History

Compared to some of the other races that are part of the Belmont Stakes Racing Festival, the Jaipur is an event with a relatively short history. Inaugurated in 1984, it became the Jaipur Handicap in 1996 before reverting to a conditions race in 2007.

From 2014 to 2019, it was known as the Jaipur Invitational Stakes. The event is named after 1962 Eclipse Award winner Jaipur, the outstanding three-year-old male horse of that season.

Jaipur won the Belmont Stakes and enjoyed a memorably close victory in the Travers Stakes. Sired by the Aga Khan’s Nasrullah, he was named after the capital of Indian state of Rajasthan.

The Japiur was originally held on dirt, quickly switching to turf in 1987. There have since been five occasions when wet weather has meant that it has made the move back from grass to dirt (1992, 1997, 2001, 2003 and 2013).

Repeat Winners in Recent Years

Casa Creed is a multiple winner of the Jaipur Stakes

There have been three occasions when the race was oversubscribed and had to be split into two divisions. These instances came in 1986, 1994 and 1995. Race organizers, the NYRA, now have a balloting out process so this doesn’t happen.

The Jaipur did not achieve Grade I status until 2019. Three horses have won this race twice. They are Ecclesiastic in 2005 and 2007, Disco Partner in 2017 and 2018, and Casa Creed in 2021 and 2022.

When Disco Partner won it for the first time in 2017, he set a world record for the fastest race over six furlongs in a time of 1:05.67 The quickest time when the Jaipur had seven furlongs as its distance was the 1:20:06 by Nijinsky’s Gold in 1994.

To Freedom boasts the biggest margin of victory in 1992, when winning the race by a distance of six lengths. Jerry Bailey, meanwhile, is the most successful jockey in Jaipur history with six wins (1986, 1991, 1993, 1998, 2001, 2002). William I. Mott is the winningest trainer with five victories (1989, 1998, 2006, 2021, 2022).

Recent Jaipur Winners

Let’s take a look back at the details of the Jaipur Stakes results over recent years going back to 2014:

Year Winner Age Jockey Trainer
2024 Cogburn 5 Irad Ortiz Jr Steven Asmussen
2023 Caravel 6 Tyler Gaffalione Brad H. Cox
2022 Casa Creed 6 Luis Saez William I. Mott
2021 Casa Creed 5 Junior Alvarado William I. Mott
2020 Oleksandra 6 Joel Rosario Neil D. Drysdale
2019 World Of Trouble 6 Manuel Franco Jason Servis
2018 Disco Partner 6 Irad Ortiz Jr Christophe Clement
2017 Disco Partner 5 Irad Ortiz Jr Christophe Clement
2016 Pure Sensation 5 Jose L. Ortiz Christophe Clement
2015 Channel Marker 6 Francisco C. Torres Philip A. Bauer
2014 Undrafted 4 John R. Velazquez Wesley A. Ward

Jaipur Stakes 2024 Picks

The Jaipur takes place on Saturday, June 8 2024 at Saratoga on the undercard of the Belmont Stakes. We now know which horses run with a dozen entries, plus four reserves on standby.

Ahead of time, the expert picks for the Jaipur from our pro handicappers did have one selection in the money. That was Star Of Mystery who made the show.

The Belmont Stakes Betting Sites handicappers use Morning Line odds and prices, plus other data like speed figures, to come up with their picks.

2024 Jaipur Stakes Post Position Draw

All the details relating to the Jaipur draw and post positions came in on the Monday before the race in 2024. There is a field of 12 sprinters lining up in the gates with four reserves this year. Here are their Morning Line odds and posts:

  1. The White Duke (120lbs) – 30-1
  2. Arzak (124lbs) – 9-2
  3. Dancing Buck (120lbs) – 8-1
  4. Coppola (120lbs) – 20-1
  5. Big Invasion (124lbs) – 8-1
  6. Star Of Mystery (117lbs) – 6-1
  7. No Nay Mets (118lbs) – 30-1
  8. Cogburn (126lbs) – 2-1
  9. Sousa Summer (120lbs) – 20-1
  10. Alogon (120lbs) – 15-1
  11. Filo Di Arianna (118lbs) – 15-1
  12. Mischief Magic (120lbs) – 8-1
  13. Grooms All Bizness (120lbs) – 12-1 [Reserve]
  14. Outlaw Kid (120lbs) – 30-1 [Reserve]
  15. American Monarch (120lbs) – 15-1 [Reserve]
  16. Souper Quest (120lbs) – 15-1 [Reserve]

Stats & Trends for the Jaipur

Let’s take a look back at the last ten years of the Jaipur, to see if there are any insights that could be relevant to the 2024 race.

Christophe Clement has been the most successful trainer during this period. From ten starts, his horses have won the race three times, finished second once and two others made the show. Yet the last of these winners came in 2018.

William Mott is the most successful trainer in the history of the Jaipur with five wins. Two of them came as recently as 2021 and 2022. From eight starts, Mott’s horses have not just had two wins, but also a second place finish and a third place spot.

The winner in 2023 was Brad H. Cox filly Caravel, ridden by Tyler Gaffalione. Cox now has one winner and one placed finisher from three starts, so he is another trainer to look out for in this race.

Check Favorites & Pedigrees

Irad Ortiz is the most successful jockey over the last ten years with two wins, one place and one show from eight rides. The last of those successes came in 2018. Since then, five different jockeys have won the Jaipur, all for the first time.

If you’re thinking about backing the favorite, then the omens are good. Though only four of the last ten Jaipur winners have been favorites, they all triumphed within the last six years.

When you’re examining the breeding of the contenders, keep an eye out for three names. Disco Rico, Jimmy Creed and Purim have all had progeny that have won this twice over the last ten years.

The age of the horses might also be worth taking note of when trying to predict the Jaipur result. A six-year-old has won it six times in the last ten years. Five-year-olds have won on three of the other four occasions.


When is the Jaipur Stakes?

Can past Jaipur results tell us anything?

Who is the top trainer in Jaipur Stakes history?

Where can I bet on the Jaipur Stakes online?

Dan Fitch
Dan Fitch

Nobody is more clued up on past payouts, results and winners of the Belmont Stakes than stats man Dan. He has the history of this great race nailed down.